Me Vs. The Food

I started a new training regime recently and began tracking my calories and macro-nutrients(fats, carbohydrates and proteins) about ten days ago as part of it. The aim was to lose the excess fat that sits around my mid-section.

I have learned one BIG lesson; I cannot accurately guess how much food I eat. I know enough to be able to tell you what is healthy and what could be potentially harmful if you ate it consistently. However, until I started recording exactly what I was eating, I hadn’t realised that it wasn’t what I was eating that was the issue, but how much I was eating! In these ten days I have lost 1.5KG (3.3lbs).

Tracking my foods hasn’t meant that I have excluded anything that I would normally eat, but it has meant that I eat less of the highly calorific foods that were preventing me from slimming down any further. Even good food will prevent you losing weight if you eat too much of it and this is what I was guilty of. Tracking my food has been a great learning experience so far and I would highly recommend it to anyone. Whether trying to lose/gain weight or even if you’re just interested in how much you eat!

Hot Tip: download the FREE MyFitnessPal App, it will track everything for you and you can even scan in bar-codes so that you don’t spend your entire life recording what it says on food labels. More info can be found on their website: https://www.myfitnesspal.com/

This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

